propagation

Talk about hostas, hostas, and more hostas! Companion plant topics should be posted in the Shade Garden forum.

Moderators: ViolaAnn, redcrx, Chris_W

shaggybirdman

propagation

Post by shaggybirdman »

i have been looking on evil bay at hosta. i was wondering witch is better. a division of a plant, or a tissue culture of one? i think that's the proper terminology anyhow. the auction says it's a 2nd year tissue culture. is that old enough to be shipped safely? yes i'm new to hosta. does it show? lol

basically how is a tissue culture done? not that i'll be trying it anytime soon, but just curious how it's done. i understand division well enough to do it myself right now. i have 2 hosta in my front garden, and have been thinking of splitting it this spring. actualy in the next 2 days if it stays dry.

i like the dwarfs, and small twisty leafed hosta. i'm not a green lover (except money of course. lol) yet i'm getting into hosta. go figure :-? . they will be grown in pots, and possibly displayed with my bonsai. i'm not sure if they will get enough shade though. my bonsai in summer get from sun up to about 3 full sun. i know that's more sun than hosta like, but most of my bonsai are maples that create alot of shade. i could stick them between them for shade.

i take it with too much sun they will burn with the possible exception of white feather witch likes more sun if i'm correct. i have one of those coming.
leafmould

Post by leafmould »

Hi Shaggy :P why take a chance on something that could be with you the rest of your life ?
Bet on a sure thing and order your plants from a reputable nursery like Hallson's.
Mr. Leafmould
newtohosta-no more

Post by newtohosta-no more »

Personally I would buy a division of a plant over a 2 yr. TC, but I'll have to leave it to the "experts" here to explain how TCs work.