Snow

Talk about hostas, hostas, and more hostas! Companion plant topics should be posted in the Shade Garden forum.

Moderators: ViolaAnn, redcrx, Chris_W

jgh

Snow

Post by jgh »

Well... in case anyone in Minnesota had amnesia and was lulled into forgetting what a bxxxx Mother Nature can be...

We had an exceptionally warm and nice March, followed by the warmest April since 1915. Throughout the southern half of the state people are describing their gardens as 2-3 weeks ahead of normal. It is convention year for us, so we were all hoping to see some extra growth on our younger plants before the third week of June.

Some people say the glass is half-empty. Others say it is half-full. I've been gardening in Minnesota for most of my 60 years, so I say the glass is cracked and will never be worth a dxxx.

Last Friday, some storms rolled through. At least one of the tour gardens got hit - not slaughtered, but lots of holes.

Today the temperature is hanging in the 40s, with a long cold rain. Tonight the lows are predicted around 36 for an extended period, with snow possible from midnight to 6 am. We could get an inch or two inches of wet, slushy snow. Then Saturday night we can expect several hours down around 34.

Folks farther north will almost certainly see temps below 30, possible both nights, and possibly for several hours... Don Dean, a name you'll see on a lot of new hosta introductions, is on the tour... and he is farther north... he's got to just be sick about this...

I'm looking for sympathy, here... and maybe some reassurance. I know Chris says he doesn't worry too much about a little snow after the soil has warmed up. Don't give me any advice about covering stuff. My greenhouse is full, I've got maybe a half acre of gardens and maybe 500 plants potted and sitting around in various locations. Tell me its all going to be OK!
renaldo75

Re: Snow

Post by renaldo75 »