Nematodes with a side of HVX ???

Talk about hostas, hostas, and more hostas! Companion plant topics should be posted in the Shade Garden forum.

Moderators: ViolaAnn, redcrx, Chris_W

New Topic Post Reply
Ludi
USDA Zone: 7a

Nematodes with a side of HVX ???

Post by Ludi »

Hi Chris,

I am posting this here so as to not bog down your email, and help others learn if these are in fact foliar nematodes and the beginnings of HVX. I am not an expert by a long shot (you knew that) but I am almost sure about the nematodes. The HVX I will leave for you to declare. I only noticed it after I took the camera out to take pictures of the nematodes ... go figure ... pandora's box.

Here is the control photo to show a standard uninterrupted leaf. The cultivar is 'Cascades'.

Now for the pics of what I believe to be nematodes ...

These next two pictures are a hot mess ... I'm not sure what all is going on here.

Imager

And finally, the pic of what I THINK might be HVX ...

So what's the verdict Doc ?

As always Thank YOU for taking the time to look and help. :)

Best,
Ludi
The only thing two Gardeners will ever agree on is what the other is doing wrong.

You won't know how to grow a plant successfully until you've killed it a few times.
Chris_W
Administrator
USDA Zone: 9

Re: Nematodes with a side of HVX ???

Post by Chris_W »

Hi Ludi,

Wow, that is tough to see, but I think I just have a bad perspective. I'm trying to see if it is meltout or nematodes, which you can usually tell the difference by the nematodes being clearly confined by the veins. So I'm trying to look and see if any of the browning is crossing over the veins at any spot and in some areas it almost looks like it does but then that one picture with the brown coming down in sure looks like it is completely contained.

I hate to say this, but can you share a more overall picture showing multiple leaves instead of just close ups?