Hosta dying? Rhino Hide leaf

Talk about hostas, hostas, and more hostas! Companion plant topics should be posted in the Shade Garden forum.

Moderators: ViolaAnn, redcrx, Chris_W

New Topic Post Reply
Hot Cold Warm
USDA Zone: 4a-b edge

Hosta dying? Rhino Hide leaf

Post by Hot Cold Warm »

Hello hosta friends,

I purchased a 4 inch potted Rhino Hide last year It was small but it survived the winter planted in the ground (yay!)
It is located in a shaded woodland garden area in northern New Hampsire. I am a newbie to "real gardening" (real gardening is my idea of = love, interest, concern and caring if things die or thrive type of gardening). I am learning a lot through forums (thanks to all for sharing) and by trial and error.

About the Rhino Hide: Everything seemed fine and was flourishing spring into summer... In late June, before going out of town for 2.5 weeks, I applied Milorganite and a pellet form of slug bait (my first time using this since I would not be around to hand pick the slugs)... I returned to see sick and dying leaves, and the eyes easily fell off the crown of the main Rhino Hide when I touched it for closer inspection. This has only happened to the Rhino Hide Hosta.

Is this leaf death from dehydration? I left the hostas to tough it out with whatever rain would fall. Chemical reactions? Disease? Looking online I see Cercospora that kind of looks similar, but I am not sure.

To be clear, the slug holes in the leaf are not my issue- I have tons of slugs and snails to battle... But I am wondering perhaps the stem/leaf death is because of a slug or snail eating the eye at the base causing the leaf to die?

But then again, I saw no evidence of slugs at the base gorging on the hosta... but then again the eye (stem) just fell off the crown when I touched it to examine it. 2 "sick" stems/eyes fell off the main plant and I was shocked. :o

Sorry for word "eye/stem" usage if it is incorrect.

Any ideas? Suggestions?

I have open ears to learn and