Drip Irrigation for pots

Use this area to discuss container and trough gardening.

Moderator: Chris_W

ThisIsMelissa
USDA Zone: 4a

Drip Irrigation for pots

Post by ThisIsMelissa »

Such an active forum....
Well, let's wake it up a bit.

In the past, I've resisted gardening in pots since I am not good at watering when I should. I know this, so I don't waste money on pots and flowers I know I won't care for.
But I'm really falling in love with pots lately... so beautiful.... and if you keep a good eye, you can find some lovely ones for good prices!
I digress.

I'm going to do a grouping of several pots along my walkway. Currently, they're all empty, so I have the opportunity to hopefully do something cool.

Drip irrigation in pots.
All the pots will be lifted off the ground with pot feet or something similar. So, I'm thinking of running 1/4" tubing up thru the drainage hole in the bottom of the pot, up along the side of the pot and have an emitter on the soil surface. I could put all of the pots on one circuit and set the entire circuit on an automatic watering schedule.
I found this image and have learned that perhaps my idea isn't all that new, but for me, it is!

So, has anyone ever tried this? Successful? Not? Thoughts?
Melissa's Hosta Lists
My gardening blog

PS: Hubby and I are hoping to ADOPT & we need your help.
If you hear of someone considering placing a baby for adoption, please refer them to us: Our Adoption Blog
paul_in_mn
USDA Zone: 4b

Re: Drip Irrigation for pots

Post by paul_in_mn »

Sounds very neat. I have no answers, but will throw out some things to think about.