Reversion question

Want to share and learn about Hosta hybridizing and seed starting and growing? Then this is the place. Also check out our annual seed exchange held in late fall and winter.

Moderator: redcrx

sweetee
USDA Zone: 5

Reversion question

Post by sweetee »

Hi, I'm totally ignorant when it comes to hybridizing, and am just starting to plant hosta seeds. My question regards hosta Revolution. Mine keeps reverting. In the case of this photo, instead of sporting a new green eye, the leaves are reverting and some are streaked. There are more than one eye in this pot. If I used seed from this plant as a parent, would it take on the traits of an all green hosta, or unknown? Or, is this a totally bad idea? Sorry if I am not wording this correctly, but I'm just learning about hybridizing. Thanks :D
Attachments
Revolution reverting
Revolution reverting
GrannyNanny

Re: Reversion question

Post by GrannyNanny »

I'd try the seeds -- they may or may not give you anything but green, but you never know. Technically only "streaked" pod parents are supposed to throw streaked or variegated seedlings, but that rule is often disproved by streakers coming from variegated -- or in the case of one of my own variegated productions -- from a solid gold pod parent. If you have the room to experiment, go for it -- the experiment itself is worth the effort. Phyllis
GrannyNanny

Post by GrannyNanny »

Forgot to add -- next spring I'd separate the variegated part of that hosta from the all-green part, so that it doesn't eventually lose its variegation entirely. Phyllis
Pieter

Post by Pieter »

sweetee wrote:Mine keeps reverting. In the case of this photo, instead of sporting a new green eye, the leaves are reverting and some are streaked.