Question Re: Berry Family of Nurseries

Discuss Hosta Virus X and share pictures and information on this ever increasing threat to hosta growing.

Moderators: redcrx, Chris_W

jpl68
USDA Zone: 5

Question Re: Berry Family of Nurseries

Post by jpl68 »

A local nursery where I live sells hostas from Berry Family of Nurseries. It appears they come from Michigan, which I assume means Zelenka Nursery. Does anyone know whether this Nursery currently has any problems with HVX. I read an old (2005 ish) article from Chris on this site (I think) which mentioned Zelenka Nursery, but was wondering if there are still concerns. Does anyone know? I am just getting into mail order, but would like some instant gratification with some bigger plants for a few spots in my yard I want to fill now.
Chris_W
Administrator
USDA Zone: 9

Re: Question Re: Berry Family of Nurseries

Post by Chris_W »

Hi

I don't have any experience with them, but I knew that Zelenka had either gone out of business or changed hands. The Michigan Ag inspectors are a lot more familiar about HVX now, but often enough plants still get by them. All I have to do is look at how bad things are at Menards, and those plants were from Michigan growers...

Which plants are you thinking of purchasing? If they are from the commonly infected plants I would avoid them. Those include Halcyon, Patriot, Minuteman, Francee, Gold Standard, Wide Brim, Golden Tiara, Sum and Substance... Basically the more common ones. But that doesn't rule out the possibility that ANY hosta plant couldn't be infected.

Let me know what the assortment of plants looks like and I can probably tell if they are Dutch plants or more likely domestic tissue culture.
jpl68

Post by jpl68 »