Do these hosta have HVX?

Discuss Hosta Virus X and share pictures and information on this ever increasing threat to hosta growing.

Moderators: redcrx, Chris_W

jerryshenk
USDA Zone: 6a

Do these hosta have HVX?

Post by jerryshenk »

Well, I'm very new to all this...a year ago, I didn't even know what these big-leafed plants at our new (to us) house were. Now, my wife is rather into hostas, has a hosta garden idea, we look at hosta gardens as we drive around, we've split a few and got some from a friend. That list line brings me to this message...I don't know if I have a problem or not. I kindof think the "gift hosta" has HVX. The first thing I notied was the green specs in the white and then the way the veins are green, then the variation in the green. Then, on picture #1, there is an area right above the middle of the picture where the vein kindof overlaps.

Then as I got looking around, there is some variation in color at the "green/white edge" in all our "Night Before Christmas" hostas (at least I think that's what they are) - we probably have hundreds of them and they were probably all planted 20 years ago or more although I don't know for sure. The planting time and lack of attention makes me think it's unlikely that they would have gotten HVX.

Anybody have any thoughts?

1. Gift hosta leaf
DSC_20110806_101330 by jerryshenk, on Flickr

2. Gift hosta plant
DSC_20110806_101340 by jerryshenk, on Flickr

3. Night Before Christmas (I think) leaf
DSC_20110806_101630 by jerryshenk, on Flickr

4. Night Before Christmas (I think) plant
DSC_20110806_101630 by jerryshenk, on Flickr
Chris_W
Administrator
USDA Zone: 9

Re: Do these hosta have HVX?

Post by Chris_W »

Welcome to the forums.