Possible Hosta X Virus

Discuss Hosta Virus X and share pictures and information on this ever increasing threat to hosta growing.

Moderators: redcrx, Chris_W

griswoldmi
USDA Zone: 5

Possible Hosta X Virus

Post by griswoldmi »

I was at a nursery the other day that had some of the more rare hostas. I wanted to know of one that was sold out for the year, strip tease, so I did some research. While doing this research, I came across information about the Hosta X Virus and some pictures. I immediately recognized some of he symptoms from one of the hostas in my yard. Ever since then, I have been going crazy with worry about how many of my other hostas this disease could have possibly infected. There are 2 that I'm pretty certain have it, and another 1 that I am very skeptical about, and another couple that I am very optimistic about.

My big issue is that I am not good with identifying the types of hostas. Many of them have come from my mom's garden, some from other relatives, about 15 from local growers, and about 5 from big box stores. I am really bad about making sure my ID markers stay in the ground because I live in the country and we get a lot of wind. A goal for the summer is to identify all of my plants and make a map of the yard. This is a big task with almost 80 hostas, 80 daylillies, 25 grasses (was more but I lost some this winter), and about 10 bushes. I really need help figuring out if I should test for the virus, or look for another problem? The lady at Earl May told me it was a slug problem and really didn't seem like she even knew about the virus. I thought that Earl May was the expert with lawn and garden issues? I've even checked with the ISU extension office and they didn't have much on their website, just that I can send a sample in to be tested. I really want something done sooner and if I test all my hostas at $10 each, it will cost about $800. What? I may as well dig them all up. Even the tests from Agdia are under $5 each.
Chris_W