Hellebore seed exchange?

A forum to discuss and share pictures of Helleborus plants.
viktoria

Hellebore seed exchange?

Post by viktoria »

How about we collect some seeds (must be fresh) to trade?

I have double, anemone-flowered, picotee, white, pinks, reds and H. foetidus. Nobody knows what the offspring will look like.

I would recommend one or two dozen seeds/envelope, labelled as to parent type/color. Names do not matter since the offspring will be bustards.
Last edited by viktoria on Mar 20, 2007 8:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
Many a great tune has been played on an older fiddle.
Hapygdnr

Post by Hapygdnr »

I have no (hellebore) seeds to trade since I am just starting out with them, got my first one last yr, but would love to try growing some from seed. I hope some members here will want to try the exchange. Good idea!
Jeanne
pauhaus
USDA Zone: 5b

Post by pauhaus »

Hey Viktoria, I'm in! Great idea. :P
Paul
My Hosta List

“With fronds like you, who needs anemones.”
Tigger
USDA Zone: 6b - 7a

Post by Tigger »

Is there a primer on here for starting hellebores from seed? So far in my garden, God hasn't been keeping up his end, so I could use some info on how to help him.
viktoria

Post by viktoria »

I have scads of seedlings all around my hellebores, Tigger, so I don't know what to tell you! As for sowing them, you need FRESH seed, a neutral (or close to it) growing medium and consistent moisture. Hellebores do not like to have their roots disturbed, so prick out the seedlings and pot up (2-3" pots) as soon as first leaves appear and re-pot into quarts or 1/2 gallons in early September. I use soluble fertilizer at 1/2 strength plus Osmocote (or any other slow-release fertilizer).

Viktoria
KellieD

Post by KellieD »

I've had no problems with hellebores with disturbing their roots. I've dug, transplanted and divided at all times of the year and haven't ever lost a one.
kHT
USDA Zone: 7-8 Z-nial

Post by kHT »